Birth, History, and Philosophy of Islam: Understanding the Five Pillars, Kafir, Jihad, and Hoor

Philosophy of islam,mosque, crowd, worship-4372296.jpg

Birth, History, and Philosophy of Islam

Birth of Islam:

Islam originated in the 7th century CE in the Arabian Peninsula. The Prophet Muhammad, born in Mecca around 570 CE, is considered the final prophet in Islam. At the age of 40, Muhammad received revelations from Allah (God) through the angel Gabriel. These revelations, later compiled into the Quran, form the foundational scripture of Islam. Muhammad’s mission was to convey the monotheistic message of Islam and guide humanity to righteousness. Islam is one of the world’s second major religions, and approximately 25% of the world’s population (Christianity is the First )

History of Islam:

The early years of Islam were marked by persecution and opposition in Mecca. In 622 CE, facing increasing hostility, Muhammad and his followers migrated to Medina, an event known as the Hijra. This migration marks the beginning of the Islamic calendar. In Medina, Muhammad established a thriving community, and over the next decade, he returned to conquer Mecca. By the time of his death in 632 CE, Islam had spread across the Arabian Peninsula.

After Muhammad’s death, the Caliphs, successors to the Prophet, led the Islamic community, expanding its reach through military conquests. The spread of Islam continued through trade, scholarship, and cultural interactions, reaching regions beyond Arabia. Islam eventually developed into a diverse and influential civilization, with contributions to science, philosophy, art, and governance.

The birth of Islam marked a significant turning point in the history of the Arabian Peninsula. Prior to the advent of Islam, the region was characterized by tribal rivalries, idol worship, and social injustices. Muhammad’s teachings emphasized monotheism, social justice, and moral conduct, challenging the prevailing norms of the time.

The philosophy of Islam revolves around the belief in one God, known as Allah, and the importance of submission to His will. A Muslim is one who believes in Allah. Muslims strive to live a righteous life by adhering to the teachings of the Quran and the Hadith (sayings and actions of Prophet Muhammad).

Philosophy of Islam:

The philosophy of Islam centers on the following key principles:

  1. Tawhid (Oneness of God): Islam emphasizes the absolute oneness of God (Allah). Tawhid is the fundamental concept that God is unique, indivisible, and beyond any human comprehension.
  2. Prophethood: Muslims believe in a line of prophets, including Adam, Noah, Abraham, Moses, Jesus, and Muhammad. Prophets serve as messengers, conveying God’s guidance to humanity.
  3. Scriptures: The Quran is the primary scripture, believed to be the literal word of God. Muslims also honor the previous scriptures, including the Torah and the Bible, considering them earlier revelations.
  4. Accountability and Judgment: Islam teaches that individuals are accountable for their actions. On the Day of Judgment, all people will be judged based on their deeds, and they will either be rewarded with eternal paradise or face consequences for wrongdoing.

The Five Pillars of Islam

The Five Pillars of Islam are the fundamental acts of worship that every Muslim is obligated to perform. These pillars serve as the foundation of a Muslim’s faith and practice:

  1. Shahada (Faith): The declaration of faith, which states, “There is no god but Allah, and Muhammad is His messenger.” By reciting this statement sincerely, a person becomes a Muslim.
  2. Salat (Prayer): Muslims are required to perform five daily prayers, known as Salah, at specific times throughout the day. These prayers involve physical movements and recitation of verses from the Quran.
  3. Zakat (Charity): Muslims are obligated to give a portion of their wealth to those in need. Zakat is seen as a means of purifying one’s wealth and helping to alleviate poverty.
  4. Sawm (Fasting): During the holy month of Ramadan, Muslims fast from dawn until sunset. Fasting is a practice of self-discipline, reflection, and empathy towards those who are less fortunate.
  5. Hajj (Pilgrimage): Muslims who are physically and financially able are required to undertake a pilgrimage to the holy city of Mecca at least once in their lifetime. The Hajj involves specific rituals and commemorates the actions of Prophet Abraham and his family.

Understanding Kafir, Jihad, and Hoor in Islam


In Islam, the term “kafir” (sometimes spelled “kuffar” or “kafirun”) is an Arabic word that is often translated as “disbeliever” or “unbeliever.” It is derived from the root word “k-f-r,” which conveys the idea of covering or concealing.

In Islamic theology, a “kafir” refers to someone who rejects or denies the fundamental beliefs of Islam,  particularly the oneness of God (Tawhid) and the prophethood of Muhammad. The term is used in the Quran to describe those who consciously reject or disbelieve in the message of Islam.

The term “kafir” is often misunderstood and misused. In Islamic terminology, it refers to someone who rejects or denies the truth of Islam after having received a clear message. It does not refer to non-Muslims in general, as Islam encourages peaceful coexistence and respect for people of other faiths.

Jihad: Jihad is a concept that is frequently misinterpreted. It is often associated with violence and warfare, but its true meaning is much broader. Jihad, in its essence, means striving or exerting effort. It encompasses personal struggles for self-improvement, striving for justice, and defending one’s faith when faced with oppression. It can refer to the internal struggle against sin as well as external efforts, including self-defense. The concept of Jihad emphasizes the importance of inner spiritual struggle and peaceful efforts to promote goodness.

Hoor: The term “hoor” refers to the concept of celestial beings or heavenly companions that are promised to believers in Paradise. Described in metaphorical terms in Islamic texts, they are believed to be beautiful, pure beings who provide companionship and joy to those who enter Paradise. It is important to note that the concept of hoor is not the central focus of Islamic teachings, but rather a representation of the rewards and blessings that await believers in the afterlife.

Understanding the birth, history, and philosophy of Islam, as well as the Five Pillars, Kafir, Jihad, and Hoor, provides a foundation for comprehending the richness and diversity of the Islamic faith. It is essential to approach these concepts with an open mind and seek knowledge from authentic sources to foster a more accurate understanding of Islam and its teachings.

Disclaimer: The views and interpretations presented in this article are general in nature and may vary among different individuals and sects within Islam. It is always recommended to consult knowledgeable scholars and references for a comprehensive understanding of Islamic concepts.

Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe!